About NAMI Central Virginia

NAMI Central Virginia is a local branch of the National Alliance on Mental Illness, a grassroots organization.

In 1980, the late Bertha Emroch and the late Ceal Bloch founded the Richmond Area Schizophrenia Foundation. The organization was later renamed the Alliance for the Mentally Ill of Central Virginia, to be an affiliate of both the Virginia Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI-VA) and the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). In 1998, all Alliance affiliates were renamed to reflect the name recognition of the national presence of this grassroots organization.

Our Purposes:

Family Support

To provide emotional support, fellowship, and information for parents, relatives, and friends of those with mental illness, as well as for consumers themselves.


To support the rights of persons with mental illness. To work for a comprehensive, nondiscriminatory system of care for those with mental illness.

Public Education

To reduce stigma by providing education about mental illness to the public. To provide mental health education to peers, family members, and caregivers.


To promote the establishment of non-profit, structured, and therapeutic residential facilities for persons with mental illness.


To support research and study relating to the treatment and care of children, adolescents, and adults with chronic mental illness. To inform the membership about new medications.

Board of Directors

Board Meetings

Board meetings take place on the first Thursday of every month from September to June at 6:00 PM.
All board meetings are open to the public.


St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church
6004 Three Chopt Road Richmond, VA

Board of Directors 2016-2017


President – Sherwood Atkins


1st Vice President – Tessa Shuk


2nd Vice President – Michael Joynes

Treasurer – Arnold Woodruff

Secretary – Linda McLeod

Gloria Green

Pamela Wooldridge


Angela Harris


Mike Parker

Patrice Beard

Colin Connelly









Margaret O’ Connor

 Kelly Hume  Lynn DiChristina  Patti Fields



Administrative: Sherwood Atkins
Advocacy: Tessa Shuk
Consumers/Community Support: Colin Connelly
Education: Lynn DiChristina
Faith: Colin Connelly
Fundraising: Mike Parker
Handbook: Kathy Harkey
Hospitality: Gloria Green
Membership: Mike Joynes
Telephone WarmLine: Betty Miller


Life Members

Elizabeth Brockman
Helen Foster, M.D.
Hugh McGuire
Doris Roberts
Raymond Roberts

Past Presidents

Bertha Emroch
Joseph Mason
David McKinney
Camilla Miller
Mary Louise Trusdell
Suzanne Wiltshire
Robert Trusdell
Doris Roberts
Robin Wintzer
Don Ford
Deborah Michael
John Baumann
Kathy Harkey
Joy Rowsey
Mike Francisco
Rick Stuller
Vince Cammarata


  • Form 990
  • Form 102
  • Articles of Incorporation
  • Budget
  • Annual Report